On Joblessness and Other Unpleasantries of Youth

July 10, 2009

newspaper and ostr

By Jennifer

I am trolling Craigslist every hour for any possible odd job a recent college graduate with a humanities degree could qualify for. So far, I have gotten involved in several checking scams and a fight with casting company that did not tell me about a registration fee. Yes, I should have worked harder to get into graduate school or looked for a job earlier in this woeful economy. It’s my fault I have gotten myself into this rut and I am not looking for someone to blame. I just like complaining. Everyone older than me is telling me to relax and take it easy. Enjoy my youth, they say. Except to enjoy my fast fading youth, I need some cold hard cash. Thus, I find myself in the position of sifting through Craigslist and dodging my family’s concern for my future.

Maceration of Money by George Eastman House.

No one likes telling college students that graduation does not guarantee employment, success, fame, nor happiness. What college does for you is give you the opportunity to run away from home awhile and find out how poor your decision making skills truly are. You may have the privilege of learning a subject you truly enjoy, but most likely you will half heartedly attend classes and wonder why you are even at your choice of higher education institution. You aren’t a horribly ignorant person to think this way and you certainly not the only person doubting themselves. This agonizing state of insecurity is young adulthood. You are old enough to know what’s good for you, but still young enough to do what’s bad for you.

fun

Expect everyone to have answers for what you should do for your future. It’s ok, they only care enough about you to tell you. However, it’s ok to meet up with failure once in awhile. So you aren’t on the fast track to a six figure salary and the adorable family in the suburbs, but maybe you don’t want that. Failing helps you see what you want. Being a bum for a couple months may seem like an eternity to your parents (and you since you are under their roofs and their overbearing questions about the future), but you got at least another 30 years of existing. Make these couple of months of dismal job searching your time to do whatever outrageous or ridiculous plan you’ve had lurking in your mind. After all, it’s highly unlikely you going to get the time to do it later on in life. This is what I tell myself when I find myself wracked with insomnia at four in the morning and worrying over my future.

[Children on row house steps, Washington, D.C.] (LOC) by The Library of Congress.

We’ll see how I am as a progressing a new grown-up in future entries.

Your recent college graduate/bum,

Jennifer

*Jennifer is a recent college graduate and currently a devoted job hunter.

Leave a Reply

