Behind the Scenes of an Interview: Kelly Ann Sloan

April 15, 2009

3334085274_022b17c1b7

Why a ballet dancer? I don’t really know. I saw The Curious Case of Benjamin Button a while back and one of the things that stood out most to me was the life of a ballet dancer.

Their performances are graceful, delicate, soft. Yet it takes an incredible amount of training, pain, and sweat to make their movements with such ease. Their work demands so much from their bodies and their youth. I was always curious about what it took to become a dancer and what it was like to do it as a profession. I contacted the Los Angeles Ballet Company to ask if I could talk with one of their dancers. I was lucky enough for them to refer me to Kelly.

We met at a Starbucks on the west side on a Thursday evening. The first thing that I noticed about Kelly was her very upbeat personality. I mean she was cheerful and bright at seven or eight o’clock in the evening. She greeted me with a bright smile and we sat with our coffees and dove right into conversation. She was excited from the get go and eager to share her experiences with me. She told me how she started as a child, the hardships with dancing, the dreams she had growing up, and her expectations for the future. The more she told me about ballet the more I was intrigued. She explained to me the different types, who the masters of the field were, and what her favorite stories were. She had a great sense of humor and throughout the conversation I felt like I was chatting with an old friend. She has that effect on you.

img_0682

The way she described ballet made me want to go buy some tickets and see a show immediately. I did not realize before then how much work goes into articulating emotion into motion; and in every scene! Every gesture is well thought out and studied because every movement counts.

I walked away infected by her cheer and excitement towards ballet and came away with a much greater appreciation for this art form.

Read my conversation with Kelly at The Experience Gallery

Leave a Reply

